Upcoming: Show & Tell in the Zigi Rauschenberg fashion archive by Sophie Grossmann, 4 September 2024, 6.30 pm

In 2020, art historian and NDG member Sophie Grossmann founded the private fashion archive Zigi Rauschenberg with collector's items from the late 19th and early 20th century.
As an avid collector of vintage dresses, her private collection has grown considerably over the past ten years and now includes many rare couture pieces that are shown in museums or serve as objects of study.
Registration

Show & Tell with Simone Gugger, 4 June 2024

NDG member and jewellery designer Simone Gugger celebrated her 20th anniversary this year. She presented a retrospective of her work, exhibitions and publications in her studio.

NDG+ History of Arab Graphic Design, 28 May 2024

The history of Arabic graphic design is rich. But how do you write a story about a field that has so far been widely neglected in global design historiography? In NDG+ online section, the co-author Haytham Nawar gives us an exclusive insight into the background of a book project that opens up a chapter of design history that has barely been explored.

Visit Therma Schaulager, 20 April 2024

Therma, a factory for electrical appliances, quickly developed from its headquarters in 1907 into a company with a worldwide reputation. It existed independently until 1978 when it was absorbed into the Electrolux Group. The archive is now being developed into a showroom, and a book on the history and development of Therma products is in the works. Both recall a memorable chapter in Swiss design history, the energy centre of which was the village of Schwanden for a century. After the Therma Schaulager we visited the Schätti metal goods factory.

5th General Assembly, 22 March 2024 @ Gewerbemuseum Winterthur

Our General Assembly took place at Gewerbemuseum Winterthur on invitation of our member director Susanna Kumschick. A guided tour of the Perfectly Imperfect exhibition and an insight into the new show Blood & Dust–When Residues Become Materials by member Franziska Müller-Reissmann kicked off our General Assembly. Afterwards we went for dinner at Restaurant Molino.

NDG+ Gesellschaft für Designgeschichte, 4 March 2024

What is the status of design history in Germany? How does the GfDg link research with practice, and what does cooperation with museums, universities, and archives entail? Board members Kilian Steiner and Thilo Schwer discussed networking in design history matters with us, gave tips and explained what it takes (in German).

Talk: Appearance and decay, 1 February 2024

The surface shows what shines or what has lost its lustre. But surfaces also fullfil a function and are far more than just a beautiful appearance. The discussion in the Gewerbemuseum Winterthur about design, craftsmanship, restoration and art explores how deep the surface of things is—chaired by NDG board member Meret Ernst, Susanne Graner, Head of Collection and Archive, Vitra Design Museum; NDG board member Mónica Gaspar, lecturer, freelance curator and author; Noelani Rutz, designer; and Frédéric Dedelley, designer.

Show & Tell with Sabina Tenti about Martha Huber-Villiger, 24 January 2024

NDG board member Sabina Tenti has worked on the estate of interior architect and designer Martha Huber-Villiger. She was Charlotte Perriand's employee in her Paris studio in 1952. Together with Jean Prouvé, they developed the furniture types Equipment d'habitation. A ten-month stay in Japan with Perriand had a lasting impact on Martha Villiger's work. We learn this and much more when we look at her estate, which is kept at the gta Archives at ETH Zurich.

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay up to date.

Upcoming: Show & Tell im Modearchiv Zigi Rauschenberg von Sophie Grossmann, 4. September 2024, 18.30h

2020 gründete die Kunsthistorikerin und NDG-Mitglied Sophie Grossmann das private Modearchiv Zigi Rauschenberg mit Sammlerstücken des späten 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts.
Als begeisterte Sammlerin von Vintage-Kleidern ist ihre private Sammlung in den letzten zehn Jahren stark gewachsen und umfasst nun seltene Couture-Stücke, die in einem musealen Kontext gezeigt werden oder als Studienobjekte dienen.
Anmeldung

Show & Tell mit Simone Gugger, 4. Juni 2024

NDG-Mitglied und Schmuckgestalterin Simone Gugger feierte dieses Jahr ihr 20-jähriges Jubiläum. In ihrem Atelier präsentierte sie einen Rückblick auf ihre Arbeit, Ausstellungen und Publikationen.

NDG+ History of Arab Graphic Design, 28. Mai 2024

Die Geschichte des arabischen Grafikdesigns ist reichhaltig. Doch wie schreibt man eine Geschichte über einen Bereich, der in der globalen Designhistoriografie bisher weitgehend vernachlässigt wurde? In der Rubrik NDG+ gibt uns der Co-Autor Haytham Nawar einen exklusiven Einblick in die Hintergründe eines Buchprojekts, das ein bisher kaum erschlossenes designhistorisches Kapitel eröffnet.

Besuch im Schaulager Therma, 20. April in Schwanden

Therma, eine Fabrik für elektrische Apparate, entwickelte sich ab 1907 von ihrem Stammsitz aus rasch zu einer Firma mit weltweiter Ausstrahlung. Sie bestand unabhängig bis 1978, als sie im Electrolux-Konzern aufging. Nun wird das Archiv zu einem Schaulager entwickelt und ein Buch zur Geschichte und Entwicklung der Therma-Produkte ist in Arbeit. Beide rufen ein denkwürdiges Kapitel der schweizerischen Designgeschichte in Erinnerung, dessen Energiezentrum während eines Jahrhunderts das Dorf Schwanden war. Im Anschluss besuchen wir die Schätti Metallwarenfabrik.

Ort: Sernftalstrasse 34, 8762 Schwanden, Anmeldung erforderlich

5. Mitgliederversammlung, 22. März 2024 im Gewerbemuseum Winterthur

Für die diesjährige Vereinsversammlung waren wir zu Gast bei NDG Mitglied Susanna Kumschick, Direktorin des Gewerbemuseums Winterthur. Eine Führung durch die Ausstellung Perfectly Imperfect und ein Einblick in die neue Schau Blut & Staub – Wenn Reststoffe zu Werkstoffen werden durch unser Mitglied Franziska Müller-Reissmann, bildeten den Auftakt für unsere Vereinsversammlung. Anschliessend liessen wir den Abend im Restaurant Molino ausklingen.

NDG+ Gesellschaft für Designgeschichte GfDg, 4. März 2024

Welchen Status hat die Designgeschichte in Deutschland? Wie verknüpft die GfDg Forschung mit Praxis, und wie sieht die Zusammenarbeit mit Museen, Hochschulen und Archiven konkret aus? Die Vorstandsmitglieder Kilian Steiner und Thilo Schwer diskutierten mit uns online über das Netzwerken in designhistorischen Belangen, gaben Tipps und erklärten, was es dazu braucht.

Talk: S(ch)ein und Verfall, 1. Februar 2024

An der Oberfläche zeigt sich, was glänzt oder was den Glanz verloren hat. Doch Oberflächen sind auch Funktionsträger, und damit weit mehr als nur schöner Schein. Das Gespräch im Gewerbemuseum Winterthur über Design, Handwerk, Restaurierung und Kunst ging der Frage nach, wie tief die Oberfläche der Dinge ist. Unter Leitung von NDG-Vorstandsmitglied Meret Ernst diskutierten Susanne Graner, Head of Collection and Archive, Vitra Design Museum, NDG-Vorstandsmitglied Mónica Gaspar, Dozentin, freischaffende Kuratorin und Autorin, Noelani Rutz, Designerin, sowie Frédéric Dedelley, Designer.

Show & Tell mit Sabina Tenti zu Martha Huber-Villiger, 24. Januar 2024

NDG-Vorstandsmitglied Sabina Tenti hat den Nachlass der Innenarchitektin und Designerin Martha Huber-Villiger aufgearbeitet. Diese war 1952 als Angestellte von Charlotte Perriand in deren Pariser Atelier tätig. Gemeinsam mit Jean Prouvé entwickelten sie die Möbeltypen Equipment d’habitation. Ein zehnmonatiger Japan-Aufenthalt mit Perriand prägte Martha Villigers Schaffen nachhaltig. Dies und noch viel mehr erfuhren wir beim Blick auf ihren Nachlass, der im gta Archiv der ETH Zürich aufbewahrt wird.

Newsletter

Melde Dich für unseren Newsletter an und bleibe stets auf dem Laufenden: